15th National Assembly, to be dissolved today, elected two PMs, speakers and deputy speakers

Minute Mirror - Subscribe
Minute Mirror - Subscribe

The 15th National Assembly of Pakistan, which began on August 13, 2018, as a result of the general elections of July 25, 2018, will be dissolved today.

The 15th National Assembly elected a president, two prime ministers, two speakers and two deputy speakers. The highlight of the 15th National Assembly was that it removed Prime Minister Imran Khan from office through a no-confidence motion.

On August 18, 2018, when Imran Khan was elected prime minister, on the very first day, the opposition strongly protested against the alleged rigging in the general elections. The contact between Leader of the House Imran Khan and Leader of the Opposition in the National Assembly Shehbaz Sharif was such that the two leaders never shook hands in the Assembly Hall.

In March 2022, 20 out of 158 members of the Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf’s National Assembly defected from the party and formed a separate Forward Bloc.

On April 9, 2022, the no-confidence motion against Prime Minister Imran Khan was successful, and the National Assembly elected Shahbaz Sharif as the new Prime Minister on April 11.

On April 9, National Assembly Speaker Asad Qaiser resigned from his post. Later, Deputy Speaker Qasim Suri also resigned from the post.

On April 15, 2022, the National Assembly elected Raja Pervaiz Ashraf as the new Speaker.

On April 11, 2022, 125 members of the National Assembly, including Imran Khan, announced their resignation from the National Assembly. After the PTI’s resignation from the assemblies, the PTI’s 20-member Forward Bloc decided to sit in the opposition and elected Raja Riaz as the leader of the opposition.

Due to lack of good relations between the government and the opposition, there was not much legislation in the first four and a half years of the current National Assembly, but during the Shehbaz Sharif government, the National Assembly also set legislative records.

The amendment to the law on the tenure of the army chief in the 15th National Assembly was the only legislation when the two major opposition parties, the PPP and the PML-N, supported the bill introduced by the Imran Khan government.

The 15th National Assembly elected a president, two prime ministers, two speakers and two deputy speakers. In the National Assembly, the working relationship between the opposition and the government was mired in controversy; the 15th National Assembly removed the Prime Minister from the post through a no-confidence motion.