By-elections: Counting begins as polling ends in 11 constituencies

Counting is underway as voting for by-elections in 11 constituencies across three provinces came to an end.

The electoral process remained peaceful with the exception of reports of clashes between Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI) and Awami National Party (ANP) workers in Khyber Pakhtunkhwa amid PTI claims of a lawmaker being attacked by PPP in Karachi.

The voting period lasted from 8:00am to 5:00pm.

Three seats in the National Assembly and three seats in the provincial assembly are up for contest in Faisalabad, Nankana Sahib, and Multan in Punjab; three NA seats in Charsadda, Peshawar, and Mardan in KP; and two NA seats in Korangi and Malir in Sindh.

PTI Chairman Imran Khan is competing for seven of the eight NA seats, which is unprecedented in the political history of the country.

A total of 101 candidates, representing various political parties and independents, are running for office: 52 in Punjab, 33 in Sindh, and 16 in KP. These constituencies have 4.472 million registered voters.

Speaker Raja Pervaiz Ashraf accepted the resignations of PTI MNAs on July 28, nine on general seats and two on reserved seats for women, igniting debate about the resignation’s partial acceptance. As a result, the NA seats were vacated.

The legislators whose resignations were approved were among the more than 120 who had left their National Assembly seats on April 11, two days after former prime minister Imran Khan was removed from office following a no-confidence vote.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here