31 C
Sunday, May 22, 2022
HomeNationalDisqualify dissident Punjab MPAs, PTI asks ECP

Disqualify dissident Punjab MPAs, PTI asks ECP

Wants disqualifications within 30 days 8Party to hold protest demonstration outside ECP office today

Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI) has urged the Election Commission of Pakistan (ECP) to decide the fate of those dissident MPAs who violated the party policy and voted for Hamza Shehbaz in the election of Chief Minister Punjab.

The PTI moved an application to Chief Election Commissioner through Advocate Azhar Siddique demanding the disqualification of 26 lawmakers for violating the party policy under Article 63 A. It also urged the ECP to decide the matter within 30 days. “Your offices are under obligation to decide the said references within 30 days from the filing,” said the application, a copy of which is also available with MinuteMirror.

- Advertisement -

It further said that the references were moved to ECP on April 20 this month by the Punjab Assembly speaker but no notice has been issued to the dissidents yet. The PTI also demanded an early hearing of the issue while urging the commission to disqualify the lawmakers on the grounds of defection within 30 days. The petitioner also attached the references sent by Speaker Punjab Assembly Chaudhry Parvez Elahi.

Speaker Elahi last week moved a reference against PTI dissident MPAs to the ECP seeking their disqualification for violating the party’s policy during the election of the Punjab chief minister. The reference was moved against 26 lawmakers who voted for opposition candidate Hamza Shehbaz in sheer violation of the party’s policy.

The deviant members named in the reference include Abdul Aleem Khan, Raja Sageer Ahmad, Ghulam Rasool, Saeed Akbar Niwani, Ajmal Cheema, Faisal Hayat Japwana, Mehar Aslam Bharwana, Khalid Mehmood, Nazeer Chohan, Nauman Langrial, Ameen Zulqarnain, Muhammad Salman, Zawar Hussian, Nazeer Ahmed, Fida Hussain, Zahra Batool, Ayesha Nawaz, Sajida Yusuf, Haroon Imran Gill, Malik Asad Khokhar, Ijaz Masih, Muhammad Tahir, Uzma Kardar, Sibtain Raza, Javeed Akhtar and Mohsin Atta Khan Khosa.

- Advertisement -

The reference was filed in the light of a letter written to the speaker by PTI Chairman Imran Khan in which he demanded their disqualification under Article 63 A. “The member(s) in violation of the Article 63 (A) (1) (b) (i) of the constitution participated in the chief minister Punjab election held on 16-4-2022 against the party decision. In this session, they violated the party discipline and cast their votes in favour of Hamza Shehbaz Sharif, the candidate nominated by PML-N.

On account of their votes, the candidate of PTI and PML-Q, Parvez Elahi, lost the election. The member(s) have violated the provisions of Article 63 A (1) (b) (i) of the constitution,” said the letter a copy of which is also available with MinuteMirror.

It further added that the change of loyalty has caused an irreparable loss to the democratic system and political values and blatantly injured the cause and objectives of the PTI, the letter said. Among them are six MPAs who were elected as independent candidates in the 2018 elections, and it is yet to be seen whether the defection clause is applicable to them or not because they were not elected on the election symbol of the PTI.

Hamza Shehbaz got elected as CM Punjab by getting 197 votes in the session of the Punjab Assembly held on April 16. Meanwhile, PTI will hold a protest demonstration outside the office of Provincial ECP today (Tuesday) demanding action against the dissident MPAs.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Top news

Related articles