Earthquake jolts parts of Punjab, KP

Epicenter of 5.0 magnitude tremors was at Afghan-Tajik Border

Islamabad, urban and rural areas of Khyber Pakhtunkhwa, including Peshawar, and parts of Punjab were jolted by an earthquake on Friday afternoon.

The main urban areas hit with the 5.0 magnitude tremors include Islamabad, Peshawar, Sargodha and Murree.

National Seismic Monitoring Centre (NSMC) has said that the epicenter of earthquake that originated at 14:23 in the afternoon was at the border of Afghanistan and Tajikistan.

Other areas affected with the earthquake included Abbottabad, Swat, Swabi, Lower Dir, Kohat, Buner, Malakand, Basham, Shangla in KP province and Multan, Faisalabad, Jhang, Jalalpur Bhattian, Chiniot, Toba Tek Singh, Chakwal in Punjab province along with areas in Azad Kashmir.

The severe jolts in some areas terrified people who immediately came out of their homes and offices reciting Quranic verses. However, no loss of life or any property has been reported yet.