22 C
Sunday, February 5, 2023
Generic filters
HomeNationalECP suspends membership of 271 MPs of Provincial Assembly

ECP suspends membership of 271 MPs of Provincial Assembly

The Election Commission of Pakistan (ECP) has suspended the membership of 271 members of the Parliament and Provincial Assembly.

The suspended members included 136 members of the National Assembly and 21 senators.

- Advertisement -

The membership of 48 members of the Sindh Assembly and 54 members of the Khyber Pakhtunkhwa Assembly had also been suspended.

According to ECP, membership of MPs was suspended for not submitting financial statements.

ECP also suspended the membership of 12 members of the Balochistan Assembly for not submitting annual returns.

- Advertisement -

The Election Commission said that suspended MPs will not be able to attend the meetings and will not be able to participate in legislation including the vote of confidence.

The election Commission will send a list of suspended members to the Speaker assembly and chairman Senate.

Ahsan Iqbal, Taj Haider, Fawad Chaudhry, Murad Saeed, Zartaj Gul, Tariq Bashir Cheema, Asad Umar, Umar Ayub and Naveed Qamar are among suspended ones.

Apart from this, the membership of Senator Shaukat Tareen, Abdul Ghafoor Haideri, and Senator Ahmed Khan had also been suspended.


Top news

Related articles