26 C
Friday, July 1, 2022
HomeNationalECP to hold by-elections on 20 seats of former PTI MPAs on...

ECP to hold by-elections on 20 seats of former PTI MPAs on July 17

Election commission to publish revised lists of candidates on June 22

The Election Commission of Pakistan announced on Wednesday that by-polls on 20 seats of the Punjab Assembly that were vacated after de-notification of 25 Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf Members of Provincial Assembly will be held on July 17.

A notification issued by the ECP says that a public notice of the by-elections will be issued to the returning officers of relevant constituencies on May 31. It said that the election commission will receive nominations between June 4 and 7.

- Advertisement -

The ECP will then issue lists of the nominated candidates on June 8. It will later scrutinize the nomination papers by June 11. Candidates will have till June 15 to file appeals against acceptance or rejection of their nominations by the returning officers. An appellate tribunal will decide on the issue on June 21.

According to the ECP notification, the commission will publish the revised lists of candidates on June 22. The candidates will have the opportunity to withdraw their nominations by June 23. The ECP will then allot election symbols to the contesting candidates on June 24. Voting will then be held on July 17.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Top news

Related articles