31 C
Sunday, July 3, 2022
HomeNationalElection Commission denotifies 25 dissident PTI MPAs

Election Commission denotifies 25 dissident PTI MPAs

Vacated seats need to be filled within 60 days through re-election

The Election Commission of Pakistan on Monday officially de-notified the 25 Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf Members of Provincial Assembly that it had de-seated for dissenting from the party on Friday.

The decision came as the ECP announced the verdict in a case regarding the dissident members of the Punjab Assembly.

- Advertisement -

Today, the ECP issued formal notifications in which it cancelled the dissidents’ election from their respective constituencies of Punjab and on the reserved seats for women and non-Muslims in the Punjab Assembly.

20 out of 25 total dissidents had been elected from various constituencies in the province. Three got elected on reserved seats for women and two were elected on reserved seats reserved for non-Muslims. The vacated seats will need to be filled within 60 days.

Earlier, on May 20 on Friday, the election commission had declared the 25 dissident members of the Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf in the Punjab Assembly as de-seated in its verdict in a case referring to the disqualification of MPAs who had voted against the party line in the election of Punjab chief minister.

- Advertisement -

The electoral commission stated in its verdict that the lawmakers who “defected from the party [PTI] by voting in favor of Hamza Shehbaz” were de-seated.

The Election Commission of Pakistan on Tuesday had reserved its decision on a reference that sought the disqualification of 25 dissident members of provincial assembly of Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf, who had voted for Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz’s Hamza Shehbaz in the election for the Punjab chief minister.




Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Top news

Related articles