26 C
Thursday, September 29, 2022
Generic filters
HomeNationalFirst phase of LG electoral contest on June 9: ECP

First phase of LG electoral contest on June 9: ECP

Elections to be held on June 9 from 8:00am to 5:00pm

The Election Commission of Pakistan (ECP) Thursday publicized the timetable for the first stage of local government polls in Punjab.

According to the ECP, the first phase will be conducted in 17 districts of Attock, Jhelum, Mandi Bahauddin, Hafizabad, Sialkot, Khushab, Chiniot, Toba Tek Singh, Sahiwal, Muzaffargarh, Layyah, Khanewal, Vehari, Bahawalpur, Rajanpur, Pakpattan and Dera Ghazi Khan due on June 9.

- Advertisement -

Polling will be conducted from 8:00am to 5:00pm, whereas the results will be announced on June 14.

Public notice inviting nomination papers will be issued to returning officers on April 18. The candidates will then file their nomination papers from April 21 to April 25. The commission will publish the names of the nominees on April 26 and conduct scrutiny on the nomination papers from April 27 to May 9.

The first revised list of candidates will be issued on May 16. On May 20, the election commission would allot symbols to the contesting candidates. Polls will be conducted on June 9 with the results being consolidated on June 14.

- Advertisement -

In its official notification, the ECP prohibited executive authorities in the federation and the provinces from utilizing state resources in local body polls designed to impact the election in a particular candidate’s favor.

Moreover, the election commission also prohibited transfers and postings of government officers in divisions for which the election schedule had been issued without acquiring prior permission from the commission.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Top news

Related articles