ICC announces T20 World Cup 2024 in US and West Indies format

The International Cricket Council (ICC) has announced the format of the T20 World Cup 2024.

The format of the event will be different from the previous events and in the next World Cup in the West Indies and the United States where 20 teams will be divided into four groups.

Two teams each from each group will make it to the Super 8 stage and the Super 8 teams will be divided into two groups.

The top four teams of the Super 8 will qualify for the semi-finals.

In the next T20 World Cup a total of 55 matches will be played. US and West Indies have qualified on the basis of hosting while Pakistan, England, India and New Zealand secured the place on the basis of performance in 2022.

Australia, Netherlands, Sri Lanka and South Africa have also qualified on the basis of this year’s performance while Afghanistan and Bangladesh qualified for the next World Cup on the basis of rankings.

The other eight teams will be decided on the basis of qualifiers. Two teams each from Africa, Asia and Europe and one each from the Pacific and America will qualify.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here