18 C
Tuesday, January 31, 2023
Generic filters
HomeSportsICC names Babar Azam captain of Men's ODI team 2022

ICC names Babar Azam captain of Men’s ODI team 2022

Pakistan’s star batter Babar Azam has been selected as the captain of the ICC’s ODI Team of the Year for 2022.

The 28-year-old registered eight scores of fifty or more in his nine games in 2022 with 679 runs at an enormous average of 84.87.

- Advertisement -

The ICC complimented the star batter by stating that “Babar Azam once again showed his prowess in the 50-over format, displaying once again why he has ruled the roost at the top of the ICC Men’s ODI Player Rankings since July 2021.”

According to the ICC’s press release, Babar’s year as the captain of the Pakistan ODI team was particularly noteworthy because his team won all three series. In the ODI format, Pakistan was unbeatable, only losing one game (against Australia) out of nine.

- Advertisement -

ICC said that he will captain the ICC Men’s ODI Team of the Year for 2022 because of his leadership abilities.

Babar, though, is the sole representative from Pakistan in the ICC ODI Team of the Year.

ICC ODI team includes Babar Azam (captain), from Pakistan, Travis Head, from Australia, Shai Hope, from the West Indies, Shreyas Iyer, from India, Tom Latham, from New Zealand, Sikandar Raza, from Zimbabwe, Mehidy Hassan Miraz, from Bangladesh, Alzarri Joseph, from the West Indies, Mohammad Siraj, from India, Trent Boult from New Zealand and Adam Zampa from Australia.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Top news

Related articles