Justice Athar Minallah took oath as SC judge

Three judges of high courts, including Justice Athar Minallah, took the oath of office as Supreme Court justices on Friday.

Justices Athar Minallah, Shahid Waheed, and Syed Hasan Azhar Rizvi were sworn in by Chief Justice of Pakistan Umar Ata Bandial.

Justice Rizvi was serving at the Sindh High Court (SHC) and Justice Waheed was serving at the Lahore High Court (LHC).

Justice Minallah served as the chief justice of the Islamabad High Court (IHC) before being promoted.

Justice Minallah’s nomination was made during the JCP meeting with a unanimous vote, while Justice Rizvi and Justice Waheed were recommended by a 5-4 vote.

Five seats in the Supreme Court were vacant following the retirement of former Chief Justice of Pakistan Gulzar Ahmed and Justices Mazhar Alam Khan Miankhel, Maqbool Baqir, Sajjad Ali Shah, and Qazi Muhammad Amin Ahmed.

The names of the recommended judges were forwarded to the Parliamentary Committee on the appointment of Judges for final approval following the commission’s approval.

Following Justice Minallah taking the oath to serve on the Supreme Court, President Arif Alvi swore in Justice Aamer Farooq as the chief justice of the IHC.

The appointment and confirmation of the judges were suggested by JCP by Article 175-A of the Constitution and were supported by the Parliamentary Committee on Judges Appointment.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here