40 C
Monday, May 16, 2022
HomeNationalMore than 100 people including PML-N, PPP leaders removed from ECL

More than 100 people including PML-N, PPP leaders removed from ECL

The Interior Ministry has removed the names of more than 100 people, including Shahbaz Sharif, ousted prime minister Nawaz Sharif, former president Asif Ali Zardari and released on bail Maryam Safdar, from the Exit Control List (ECL).

The names of Interior Minister Rana Sanaullah himself, Saad Rafique, Khawaja Asif, Shahid Khaqan and Faryal Talpur have also been removed from ECL. The names will be automatically removed from ECL after a duration of four months under the new policy.

- Advertisement -

However, the names recommended by the courts and intelligence agencies shall remain in the list. More than 100 Pakistani personalities in ECL will now be able to travel to any part of the world, including London and Dubai. Hundred people, including Shahbaz Sharif and Asif Ali Zardari, have been allowed to travel abroad.

On April 23, the government announced a new ECL policy, which has been implemented. More names are being sorted out by the Ministry of Interior. Around 3000 names have been removed from the list so far.

It should be noted that the NAB and FIA had recommended including the names of important persons in the exit control list.

- Advertisement -

The name of Rana Sanaullah was included in ECL, against whom a court has issued an order.

The authority of adding names to ECL is exercised by the director general of the FIA, but according to Rana Sanaullah, this power can be exercised by the interior minister too under current circumstances.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Top news

Related articles