Non-bailable arrest warrants for 22 PTI leaders in May 9 riots case

Minute Mirror - Subscribe
Minute Mirror - Subscribe

An anti-terrorism court (ATC) in Lahore has issued non-bailable arrest warrants for 22 Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI) central leaders in the May 9 riots case, according to ARY News.

During the hearing, the police requested the ATC to issue non-bailable arrest warrants for the PTI leaders involved in the May 9 riots case, and the plea was accepted. The anti-terrorism court issued the arrest warrants today.

Among the nominated PTI leaders in the case are Shah Mahmood Qureshi, Fawad Chaudhry, Hammad Azhar, Murad Saeed, Azam Swati, Ali Amin Gandapur, Jamshed Iqbal Cheema, Musarrat Jamshed Cheema, Mian Aslam Iqbal, Hassaan Niazi, Zubair Niazi, Imtiaz Sheikh, Andleeb Abbas, Karamat Khokhar, Ghulam Abbas, Ali Abbas, Uzma Bibi, and Haleema Bibi.

The police stated in their plea that the accused were allegedly involved in vandalism and arson on May 9. Despite police efforts to arrest them, they are still in hiding. The police sought the issuance of non-bailable arrest warrants for the PTI leaders.

In a separate development, an anti-terrorism court in Lahore extended the judicial remand of Khadija Shah in the Jinnah House attack case. Khadija Shah, a PTI activist and daughter of former finance minister Dr. Salman Shah, has been in jail on judicial remand. The court extended her remand for 14 more days and ordered the police to file a challan in the case.

The investigation into the May 9 riots has made progress as authorities have identified 41 individuals in the UK, US, and Canada who were directly involved in inciting and facilitating the riots. These individuals, associated with a political party, were identified through photos and videos where they chanted anti-Pakistan slogans and incited people to engage in anti-state activities.

The violent clashes on May 9 erupted across Pakistan following the arrest of the former prime minister and PTI chief at the Islamabad High Court (IHC).