Pakistan announces 16-member squad for Sri-Lanka series

Minute Mirror - Subscribe
Minute Mirror - Subscribe

Pakistan selection committee has announced a 16-member squad for the series against Sri Lanka.

In preparation for Pakistan’s two-match away Test series against Sri Lanka next month, fast bowler Shaheen Afridi has been re-inducted into the Test lineup.

The 16-man squad for Pakistan’s opening match in the third cycle of the ICC World Test Championship also includes uncapped all-rounder Aamir Jamal and batter Mohammad Huraira, who has never played in a Test match.

The team’s composition has been done in consideration of the environment that it would experience in Sri Lanka. The squad includes two keeper-batters, six specialized batters, four fast bowlers, and four spinners.

No Pakistani bowler has taken more wickets than Shaheen since the left-arm pacer made his debut on December 3rd, 2018, and he is one wicket away from completing a century of Test wickets. Shaheen, 23, has an average of 24.86.

Pakistan will gather in Karachi on July 3 for a camp before leaving for Sri Lanka on July 9. In due course, Sri Lanka Cricket will make the tour’s schedule public.

The most recent Test series between Pakistan and Sri Lanka ended in a 1-1 tie in July 2022.

This is the full lineup for the Sri Lanka series: Babar Azam (captain), Mohammad Rizwan (vc, wk), Aamir Jamal, Abdullah Shafique, Abrar Ahmed, Hasan Ali, Imam-ul-Haq, Mohammad Huraira, Mohammad Nawaz, Naseem Shah, Noman Ali, Salman Ali Agha, Sarfaraz Ahmed (wk), Saud Shakeel, Shaheen Afridi, and Shan Masood.