19 C
Tuesday, February 7, 2023
Generic filters
HomeNationalPML-N to move no-confidence against Punjab Assembly's CM, Speaker

PML-N to move no-confidence against Punjab Assembly’s CM, Speaker

Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz (PML-N) has decided to move a no-confidence motion against Chief Minister Punjab Chaudhry Pervaiz Elahi and Speaker Sibtain Khan.

Prime Minister Shehbaz Sharif chaired a consultative meeting of the PML-N. The no-confidence motion was signed by the members and the PML-N leadership has given the green signal to submit a no-confidence motion against the Chief Minister and the Speaker.

- Advertisement -

No-confidence motion against the chief minister and the speaker is likely to be submitted within 36 hours.

After the final approval of the PML-N top brass, the no-confidence motion will be submitted to the Assembly Secretariat. Prior to this PML-N will hold final consultations on constitutional and legal options to prevent the dissolution of the Punjab Assembly and the course of action regarding the no-confidence motion and the vote of confidence will also be decided.

According to another media report, 106 provincial assembly members of PML-N gathered at the house of Rana Mashhood where they signed the no-confidence motion.

- Advertisement -

It may be recalled that a few days ago Governor Punjab Baleegh-ur-Rehman had said in a statement that Chief Minister Chaudhry Pervaiz Elahi had the power to dissolve the assembly but he also had the right to ask him to take a vote of confidence.


Top news

Related articles