PPP wins big in local bodies polls

The candidates of the Pakistan People’s Party (PPP) won a majority of seats in both wards of the towns, members of the district council and union councils while PTI came in second by winning 13 seats on both district council and chairman of union councils.

According to the official results announced by the ECP officials on Friday, PPP candidates won the municipality of Mithi, all five town committees and 40 seats of the district council Tharparkar and as many numbers of the seats of UC chairman from the desert district. The PTI came in second, with its candidates winning 13 seats of the district council and as many seats of the union councils while independents won one seat of both UC and district council.

Earlier, according to the unofficial reports shared by presiding officers and supporters of PTI, the PTI candidates, besides winning the town committee of Nagarparkar and 36 union councils out of a total of 64 PTI candidates remained first but according to official results, the party could win only 13 seats and lost the seat of Nagarparkar town committee after its candidate Nagji Kolhi lost during the recount. Former Sindh chief minister Dr Arbab Ghulam Rahim, Arbab Anwar Jabbar and estranged PPP leaders including Mohammad Khan Loond, Abdul Ghani Khosi and others rejected the results during the first phase of the election. The PPP leaders outright rejected the allegations of PTI leaders, claiming their victory.

Hanif Samoon is a senior journalist based at Thar/Badin and contributes reports from different districts of Sindh to Minute Mirror. He has won a number of awards, including the Agahi Award twice for his stories on health and child rights. He tweets @HanifSamoon1 and can be reached through email at hanifsamoon@gmail.com


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here