29 C
Monday, May 23, 2022
HomeNationalPTI files no-trust motion against own AJK premier

PTI files no-trust motion against own AJK premier

Sardar Tanveer Ilyas nominated as new leader of the House

A no-confidence motion was filed against Azad Jammu and Kashmir Prime Minister Abdul Qayyum Khan Niazi on Tuesday by dissenting members of the Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI). The motion was filed under Article 18 of the AJK’s interim constitution and bears the signatures of 25 members of the legislative assembly.

According to reports, Sardar Tanveer Ilyas has been named the new leader of the House. The move comes after former prime minister Imran Khan was ousted from the government on April 9. Qayyum Niazi, 61, was elected as a member of the legislative assembly on July 25, 2021, from the Poonch district, situated on the Line of Control (LoC).

- Advertisement -

His nomination superseded several top party leaders and strong candidates for the coveted post, particularly PTI Kashmir president and former premier Barrister Sultan Mahmood Chaudhry, and billionaire Sardar Tanveer Ilyas.

Born in 1959, Qayyum Niazi is a veteran politician who started his political journey as a district councillor. Hailing from Dara Sher Khan village, which sits on the LoC, he was twice elected as a district councillor between 1980 and 1990. He started his mainstream political journey from the platform of the Jammu and Kashmir Muslim Conference (JKMC), the oldest political party in the region, in the 2006 elections.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Top news

Related articles