29 C
Monday, May 23, 2022
HomeNationalPunjab Assembly secretary says voting for CM not to take place today

Punjab Assembly secretary says voting for CM not to take place today

PTI’s Jahangir Tareen group decides to back Hamza Shehbaz as Punjab CM candidate

A historic session of the Punjab Assembly (PA) is scheduled for today (Saturday) in order to elect the new leader of the house after Usman Buzdar’s resigned. The session was set to begin at 11am but is yet to start.

Punjab Assembly Secretary Muhammad Khan Bhatti said voting for the new Punjab chief minister would not be done today. Speaking with media in Lahore, Bhatti said that would be no other proceedings in today’s assembly session and only the schedule would be issued.

- Advertisement -

Punjab Assembly Speaker Chaudhry Pervez Elahi, who is the ruling party Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaaf’s candidate for the vacant CM slot, arrived at the assembly. Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz’s candidate  Hamza Shehbaz also arrived at the assembly.

Meanwhile, Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaaf’s disgruntled Jahangir Khan Tareen group said that it will back the joint Opposition’s candidate, Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz leader Hamza Shahbaz for Punjab’s CM slot, senior PML-N leader Ishaq Dar said.

This comes after a meeting between former finance minister Ishaq Dar and PTI’s ex-secretary general Jahangir Tareen in a London hotel. According to a local news outlet, the two leaders talked regarding the upcoming no-confidence vote on Sunday and the Punjab CM election.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Top news

Related articles