Zardari, Shehbaz and others off the ECL hook

The names of Prime Minister Shehbaz Sharif, former president Asif Zardari, former prime minister Shahid Khaqan Abbasi, Faryal Tapur and other important political personalities have been removed from the Exit Control List (ECL), media reports said Saturday.

The names were placed on the ECL on the recommendations of the Federal Investigation Agency (FIA) and the National Accountability Bureau (NAB).

Sources said that the names, which were placed on ECL on the orders of courts and security institute, will not be removed from the list. Earlier, the Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz-led coalition government decided to stop unnecessary use of the Exit Control List (ECL).

The Exit Control List (ECL) committee formed during the first cabinet meeting chaired by Prime Minister Shehbaz Sharif on Wednesday had recommended amending the rules. As per new rules, people would be placed at the ECL only when it is necessary. The committee had also recommended fixing the time period for the pleas seeking removal of names from the ECL.