PTI’s Umar Gandapur emerges victorious in DI Khan mayoral elections

JUI-F and PPP bag second and third highest number of votes in city’s mayor polls

PTI’s Umar Amin Gandapur has been elected Dera Ismail Khan City mayor in the re-polling of the first phase of local government elections in Khyber Pakhtunkhwa.

According to the results, Umar Amin Gandapur was elected DI Khan City Mayor with 63,753 votes, Kafil Nizami of Jamiat Ulema-e-Islam-Fazl (JUI-F) came second and got 38,891 votes while Faisal Karim Kundi of Pakistan People’s Party came third with 32,788 votes.

PTI candidate Azmat Ali Khan also won the seat of chairman of Karak tehsil of Karak. Zubair Ali of JUI-F won the seat of city mayor Peshawar with 63,418 votes while JUI-F candidate Syed Badshah won the seat of chairman of Khar tehsil of Bajaur.

Independent candidate from Lakki Marwat Tehsil of Lakki Marwat was elected Chairman while Landi Kotal Tehsil of Khyber was won by Tehreek-e-Islah Pakistan candidate.

On the other hand, after complete unofficial results of five polling stations of Tehsil Council Bara, Mufti Kafeel of JUI-F has been declared successful.

During re-polling in Tehsil Council Nowshera, Muhammad Ishaq Khan Khattak, son of Defence Minister Pervez Khan Khattak, came first with 23,310 votes in 231 polling stations. Moreover, Ahad Khan Khattak came third with 33,409 votes.

In Bajaur, JUI-F candidate Haji Syed Badshah was elected chairman of Tehsil Council Khar with 18,775 votes. Meanwhile, Jamaat-e-Islami candidate Haroon Al-Rasheed came second with 18,243 votes.

In Buner district, Gulzar Hussain Babak of Awami National Party came first with 7,820 votes while Muhammad Afsar of PTI got 7,658 votes and Muhammad Abrarullah of Jamiat Ulema-e-Islam got 6,900 votes.