12 C
Saturday, December 10, 2022
Generic filters
HomeSportsPak vs. Eng preview: Who will lift the World Cup Trophy?

Pak vs. Eng preview: Who will lift the World Cup Trophy?

ICC has nominated Shadab Khan and Shaheen Afridi for player of the tournament.

Pakistan and England are all set to face each other in the finals of the ICC T20 World Cup 2022 on super Sunday. This is the first time since 1992 that both teams will clash in any ICC tournament final.

The excitement of cricket fans is beyond imagination before the all-important final which will be played at the same venue as it was 30 years ago, the Melbourne Cricket Ground (MCG).

- Advertisement -

Pakistan first experienced success in the final of the T20 World cup in 2009 when they defeated Sri Lanka by eight wickets, while England won it the following year by defeating Australia by seven wickets.

Similar to 1992, Pakistan will enter the biggest cricket stage as the underdog with the hope and prayers of millions of people.

England will be cautious of Pakistan’s unpredictable batting and bowling. In a knockout game, Pakistan is frequently the side that no one wants to play.

- Advertisement -

In their matchup with Pakistan, who have won their last four games, England is getting tagged as favourites by many cricket pundits but what needs to be remembered is that both teams have reached the final with one upset in the bag.

England faced an upset from Ireland whereas Zimbabwe hurt Babar Azam and co in the group stage. This equation puts both teams in an equal position to lift the trophy but the third contender could be ‘Melbourne rain’.

The Bureau of Meteorology has forecast 95% chances of rain on Sunday, putting the finale in doubt.

The forecast for Monday, which is a reserve day for the final, doesn’t look too encouraging either, with again a 95% chance of showers. ICC has also increased extra time to complete the final match from two hours to four hours.

Pakistan’s vice-captain Shadab Khan and pacer Shaheen Shah Afridi both had 10 wickets each in this event which made both of them contenders for player of the tournament by ICC. Mohammad Wasim and Naseem Shah have also displayed remarkable form and an economy of less than seven.

Indian captain Jos Buttler also showed form for the first time in this World Cup while chasing a 169-run mark in the second semi-final where he scored 80* runs off 49 balls with 9 fours and 3 sixes.

Sam Curran, who has 10 wickets to his credit, has been England’s best bowler.

English pacer Mark Wood and left-hand batter Dawid Malan were ineligible to play in the semifinal matchup with India, and as of right now, there are no further updates on their availability.

Overall in the T20 format, Pakistan has won 18 and England has won 11 out of 29 matches played between both teams.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Top news

Related articles