Pakistan decides to bat first against South Africa

Muhammad Haris playing in place of the injured Fakhar Zaman

Pakistan won the toss against South Africa and decided to bat first in an all-crucial world cup game.

On Thursday, Pakistan captain Babar Azam breaks his losing toss streak and asks batters to face South African pacers at SCG, Sydney.

Pakistan made a surprising change by bringing Muhammad Haris in playing 11. Harris was included in the Pakistan squad from travelling reserves after Fakhar Zaman got injured in a match against the Netherlands.

Pakistan team management preferred Muhammad Haris over Haider Ali, Asif Ali, and Khushdil Shah.

South Africa’s hard-hitting batter David Miller has been ruled out with back spasms and is replaced by Heinrich Klaasen, while Tabraiz Shamsi comes in for Keshav Maharaj.

The green team requires winning all remaining matches and hopes either Zimbabwe beats India or the Netherlands upsets South Africa.

In total T20I played between both teams, Pakistan has won 11, and South Africa has won 10 matches so far.

In the ICC T20 World Cup, Pakistan has beaten the Proteas in all 3 matches so far.

Pakistan team: Babar Azam (c), Mohammad Rizwan, Shan Masood, Mohammad Haris, Shadab Khan, Iftikhar Ahmed, Mohammad Nawaz, Mohammad Wasim Jr, Haris Rauf, Naseem Shah, Shaheen Afridi

South Africa team: Temba Bavuma (c), Quinton de Kock, Tristan Stubbs, Heinrich Klaasen, Rilee Rossouw, Wayne Parnell, Aiden Markram, Kagiso Rabada, Anrich Nortje, Lungi Ngidi, Tabraiz Shamsi.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here